– Coming Soon –

The Angel of the Abyss

Tales of Jake Hatcher #3 Coming Soon

Two years after witnessing his former lover disappear into perdition, Jake may finally have a way to free her, but a deal with the devil should never be taken lightly. Jake must discover if he has what it takes to survive a battle of wit and wills with both an unknown contender for the Throne of Damnation and the being that has been its occupant since the dawn of creation.

American Nocturne

Bram Stoker Award nominated collection

As a nocturne captures the mood of the night, reminding you of things that happen after dark falls, this collection evokes that liminal time after sundown, when moonlight owns the earth, and you can wander in thoughtful silence. But this time, you are a hopelessly lost trespasser. And the locals are armed and shoot to kill.

Moonless Nocturne

Where a moonless night is a portal to your nightmares

Short stories to intrigue, frighten, surprise, and delight. It is with curiosity and some trepidation that the reader will wonder, “Where is this story going?” With the underlying feeling, “This can’t end well.” Prepare to pick this collection up and not want to put it down until you are finished.

“THE ANGEL OF THE ABYSS proves why Hank Schwaeble is one of the true gunslingers of modern horror fantasy. I could not put this book down. Brilliant, ballsy and badass. This one’s a killer.”

—Jonathan Maberry
New York Times bestselling author of Rage

Previous Releases


Jack Hatcher Book One: Former nun Vivian Fall believes that a Hellion has escaped—returning to earth on an unholy mission to unleash the forces of damnation on an unsuspecting world. Only Hatcher can get close enough to it, because the Hellion happens to be his own brother.

Winner of the 2009 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Jack Hatcher Book Two: After he’s granted an unexpected release to attend the funeral of a brother he never knew, Hatcher becomes drawn into a mystery connected to the alluring woman his brother apparently died saving.


Hank Schwaeble is a horror, thriller and suspense writer whose credits include Damnable (Berkley/Jove), which won the Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel, and Diabolical (Berkley/Jove), as well as The Angel of the Abyss and the horror-noir collection American Nocturne, both of which are being re-released in 2021. His latest collection, Moonless Nocturne, is slated for publication this summer from Esker & Riddle.

A graduate of the University of Florida and Vanderbilt Law School, Hank is a practicing attorney and former Air Force officer and special agent for the Air Force Office of Special Investigations. He was a distinguished graduate from the Air Force Special Investigations Academy, graduated first in his class from the Defense Language Institute’s Japanese Language Course, and was an editor of the law review at Vanderbilt where he won four American Jurisprudence Awards.

In addition to reading and writing, Hank enjoys keeping in shape and playing guitar. Hank and his wife, fellow writer Rhodi Hawk, make their home near Houston, Texas. He is currently working on his next novel.

When did you know you wanted to become a writer?

I had the first inkling when I was very young and I realized my teachers were treating me differently when it came to writing assignments. Sometimes it was a good thing, like when they acted like I was a prodigy and praised my work. Sometimes it wasn’t, as when one of my grade school teachers decided to be rather nasty to me on a number of occasions, ostensibly because she refused to believe I wrote what I turned in. I think it was more of a case that she knew I was the author and knew I did it all on my own, but she simply didn’t like that I could. As if I were too smart for my own good. It was a young age to learn there were people like that out there, but it was a valuable lesson.